TGIF! Someone is back to work. Someone is still on the vacation. I’m gonna share something life where I live in Melbourne. I prefer to live in the metropolitan of city, which is not so expensive to afford but still charming. So, I settled down in South Yarra in last August.

South Yarra is a suburb of city of Stonnington that includes Prahran, Windsor, Toorak, Armadale, Kooyong, Glen Iris, Malvern and Malvern East. It situates east and south Melbourne. Approximately 10 minutes away city. It’s convenient to take trains, trams and buses. Bunch of restaurants, cafe’ and amazing stores here. I spent most time to stay in Toorak, Prahran, South Yarra and Windsor, so as you know, this article only covers tiny piece of my journey here. It should be more in next six months.

South Yarra

fullsizerender-13
1. Toorak/South Library
Travel collection might be their most abundant one. Small but lovely library. They provide copy, scan, print and computer service. Free membership. Get a member card so that you can access their online source. I like to stay there browsing newspaper and magazine. Many students get there to study.

Address: 340 Toorak Road, South Yarra Vic 3141

fullsizerender-12

2. Tivoli Road Bakery
Very famous bakery in South Yarra. Hot spot for locals and some tourists. I like to sit there having coffee and smell the scent of kitchen.

Address: 3 Tivoli Road, South Yarra VIC 3141

3. Husband
Gentleman and nice barista and staffs. Sometimes you just want to see here and read newspaper. Listen the laughs between customers and staffs here, which comforts you a day.

Address: 377 Malvern Rd, South Yarra VIC 3141

4. South Yarra Presbyterian Church
I used to get free English class there. They hold up every Sunday. However, I’m not sure if it’s still available. Please email and ask them directly.

Address: 621 Punt Rd, South Yarra VIC 3141

5. Prahran Market
My favorite market. Small but well function. A little pricy but worth it. Get unusual vegetable here, like fennel and herbs. Can’t miss here.

Address: 163 Commercial Rd, South Yarra VIC 3141

fullsizerender-10

Prahran


1. Officine Zero
When you feel alone, come here and have a decent Italian style coffee. The atmosphere is fantastic. Always crowded and warm here, like small Italy.

Address: 534 Malvern Rd, Prahran VIC 3181

fullsizerender-7

2. Tall Timber Cafe
Coffee and meal is just fine. However, sitting outside in summer is amazing.

Address: 60 Commercial Rd, Prahran VIC 3181

fullsizerender-5

3. Palate
Actually, I like to walk at this area. All the stores are kind of vintage. Slightly different from Chapel Street. Have a coconut pancake in the morning always keep me cheerful.

Address: 132 Greville Street, Prahran VIC 3181

fullsizerender-6

4. Babble Bar & Cafe
I like the way they name their dishes. A little creative, cute and funny.

Address: 4B/C Izett Street, Prahran VIC 3181

img_4996

5. St Edmonds
While I need something white to blend my day, I definitely walk there and get a Latte.

Address: 154 Greville St, Prahran VIC 3181

Windsor
1. Journeyman
Really hard to find a place on the weekend. The best way is get up early. I like the big window while sitting at the bench. It’s quite enjoyable to see the pedestrians and dogs.

Address: 169 Chapel St, Windsor VIC 3181

2. Mr Mister Cafe
Another hot spot in Windsor. Just get there early.

Address: 161 Chapel St, Windsor VIC 3181

3. Back of Chapel Backpackers
When I was here, where I stayed. Good vibes. Close to Chapel street. Compared to St. Kilda, I prefer this area.

 

