I went to Hobart last week. It’s my favorite city in Australia now. Even though it’s kind of boring, especially after 6 pm. However, life is not only about food, music, or wine, but also how you reflect your situation….

I have to admit so many places I’ve never been to in Hobart. That’s why I wanted to visit Hobart again, but MONA is the main reason that I definitely visit there again.

1. MONA (Museum of old and New Art)
I’ve been to so many museums around the world, but MONA of Hobart and MOMA of New York are my top ranks. Why? I like their boldness. I believe artists should not be afraid of trying new stuffs and bring more creative things to the table. What is life? What is reality? Just think outside the box. Because so many people have done amazing things, it’s getting tougher now. Furthermore, the architecture of MONA is extremely cool. I really like the combination of art and design. It’s sooooooooo brilliant.

No offense, but I didn’t expect I’ll see the coolest museum here. The ferry of MONA is really fun, too. There are exterior stage for summer and winter festival. Bar, cafe and restaurant are the hot spots you should not miss out. I don’t put too much photos because I hope you can visit here by yourself. I don’t want to ruin your adventure here. Have fun here.

2. Kunanyi/Mount Wellington
You can get here by walking, cycling, driving or touring. However, I chose to attend the mini tour. It costed 30 AUD and two hours, 35 minutes in the summit included. I had a bad luck when we were in the summit, the big wind and snow came urgently. The spectacular view was gone suddenly and went freezing cold.

3. Salamanca Market
Speaking of Hobart, you’ve never missed out Salamanca Market. They hold up every Saturday. Best opportunity to immerse with local community. At night, it turns to shining night life. People get drink and delicious food here. 08:30 – 15:00

4. Farm Gate Market
It’s kind of boring on Sunday. Don’t frustrated. Here comes farm gate market. Come and know the local farm. It’s on Bathurst St between Murray and Elizabeth St. 08:30 – 13:00

5. Salamanca Arts Centre
There are so many delicate shops you can hang out. Every Friday night from 17:30 – 19:30, you can enjoy the music here. It was shamed that I didn’t make it. However, I did love the venue here.

6. Rivulet Walk
Tired of art gallery. Fine. Walk along with the river and picnic here. It passes through Female Factory, which is world heritage, and Cascade Brewery. If you want to climb the Mt Wellington, it’s the road you can keep going.

7. North Hobart
If you like to eat, you should come North Hobart. Go along with Elizabeth Street from CBD to North Hobart. It’s hot spot of food. I should not give you any advice because there are so many choices, haha….

img_5339

8. The Pickled Frog
The best atmosphere hostel I’ve stay with. Always full of people gathered to hang out with in the lobby. Maybe it’s not much to do at night in Hobart. Great advice for travel and worth of money. The women restroom is hard to close, but it was fun with full of graffiti. People think of life differently and they communicate with each other in the toilets.  If you take airport shuttle bus, please get off at Hobart transit center.

9. Village Cinema
Don’t know what to do at night? Maybe just like me to watch a movie, at least it’s cheaper than Melbourne. I saw “La La Land” and really really like it. Love the rhythm of movie and the way director told the story. Emma Stone performs well, for sure. Sweet and sad love story.

10. Machine Laundry Cafe
Best breakfast and coffee in the Salamanca Square. Come early in case you need to wait for seats, unless you want to wash your clothes simultaneously.

Address: 12 Salamanca Square, Battery Point TAS 7004
Opening hours: 07:30 – 17:00 (Everyday, except Sunday 08:30 – 17:00)

11. Tandoor and Curry House
Yummy curry here. Might be a little pricy. However, it’s lovely experience.

Address: 101 Harrington Street, Hobart TAS 7000
Opening hours: 17:00 ~

img_5245

12. Jackman and McRoss
Lovely bakery in the Battery Point. Coffee is nothing special, but try their bread.

Address: 57-59 Hampden Rd, Battery Point TAS 7004
Opening hours: 07:00 – 17:00

img_5332

13. Shamrock Bar
Close to the hostel I lived. Kind of locals bar. The price and quality of food are fair enough.

Address: 102 Harrington St, Hobart TAS 7000
Opening hours: 11:00 – 22:00

img_5345

Freycinet Peninsula is the place I want to go and never been to. Thanks to this reason, so I will definitely go to Hobart again!!!

 

 

